Australia’s first win in the women T20I tri-series :

In the 3rd T20I match of the tri-series played on Sunday, 2nd February Australia beat India by 4 wickets with 7 balls left and thus makes their first win the tri-nation Tournament.

Ellyse Perry’s complete all-round performance with 49 of 47 balls and 4 wickets for just 13 made the way for Australia’s victory.

Australian bowlers devastated Indian batting line-up:

The host Australia won the toss and invited India to bat first. Which turned to be a great decision for Australia as they restricted India below the par score at 103/9. Though India started with aggressive mode they lose wickets at the regular intervals due to which the scored just 103. Young Shefali Verma, who was impressive in the last game was the first to get bowled by Perry for 5 in just the second over.

On the last ball of the 4th over Jemimah Rodrigues was caught at 1 by Tayla Vlaeminck. While the Indian skipper Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana withstand the Australian bowlers and made a partnership of valuable 40 runs.  

In the 10th over Smriti was removed by Jess Jonassen at 35. After it, was the devastation of the Indian middle-order by Perry starting in the 14th over as she perished Indian Captain Harmanpreet at 28 and made Taniya Bhatia and Deepti Sharma caught on ducks in just next four balls which made India lose 6 wickets for 78.

After the Perry strike India was unable to stabilize the innings and lose another 2 wickets of Veda Krishnamurthy and Arundhati Reddy who were playing at 8 and 6 respectively in the next over of Vlaemick. Thus stopping India at the below-par score of 103/9. This credit goes to the main wicket-takers Perry and Vlaeminck who took 4 are 3 wickets respectively.

Venue: Manuka Oval, Canberra


India Women (Playing XI): Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Veda Krishnamurthy, Taniya Bhatia(w), Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Arundhati Reddy, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav

Australia Women (Playing XI): Alyssa Healy(w), Beth Mooney, Ashleigh Gardner, Ellyse Perry, Rachael Haynes(c), Jess Jonassen, Annabel Sutherland, Nicola Carey, Georgia Wareham, Tayla Vlaeminck, Megan Schutt

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button