India creates another history by registering whitewash against New Zealand by 5-0 in the 5 matches T20I Series:

The 5th T20I between New Zealand and India played at Bay Oval was won by India. This time India won the toss and electing to bat first gave a target of 163 runs. In return again New Zealand was unable and lost the match by 7 runs in the last over.

R and R again leads India to make 163 :

Again India’s first batting started with KL Rahul and Sanju Samson. New Zealand bowlers then made an early breakthrough by dismissing Samson for 2 by Scott Kuggeleijin in the 2nd over of the innings. But after that Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma and in-form KL Rahul made a solid partnership of 88 runs which led India to set huge total.

With Rahul’s dismissal at 45, India’s ship was sailed by the Indian skipper Rohit Sharma who made 60 off 40 balls but was retired hurt in the 17th overdue to pain in the limbs. After, Rohit’s stunning knock India was able to add only 25 runs in the 3 overs. Thus, giving New-Zealand a challengeable target of 164 runs. 

Indian Bowlers defended 163 runs:

New Zealand’s chase of 164 starts with the early wickets. Martin Guptill was removed by Bumrah in just the 2nd over for 2 at the cause of LBW. In the mid of 3rd over Washington Sundar bowled another Kiwi opener Colin Munro who was playing at 15.

Six balls later Tom Bruce was run-out by Sanju Samson’s brilliant fielding for a duck and making New Zealand 17/3. But the sensational partnership between Tim Seifert and Ross Taylor of 99 runs made New Zealand’s good hold in the run chase with the 34 runs off the Shivam Dube’s over. But in the 13th over Seifert was removed by Saini at short mid-wicket for 50. And in the next over Bumrah perished Daryl Mitchell with a stunning yorker for 2.

Then Santner departs off Shardul Thakur for 6. And after two balls Thakur removed Kuggeleijin for a first-ball duck and thus making New Zealand 133/7 at the end of 17th over.

Saini caught behind the danger man Ross Taylor for 53 hence pushing New Zealand in deep trouble and the trouble continued as Bumrah removed the Kiwi skipper Tim Soothe for 6 with this striking yorker and change the score to 143/9. Now Blackcaps needed 21 runs in the last over. Although Ish Sodhi’s two maximum’s in the last over New Zealand lost the match by 7 runs. 

India Clean Sweeps Newzeland. India’s clean sweeps home away series –
3-0 v Australia in AUS 2015/16
3-0 v West Indies in USA/WI 2019
5-0 v New Zealand in NZ 2020

Most bilateral series wins as captain –
10 – Virat Kohli
9 – Faf du Plessis
7 – Eoin Morgan
6 – Darren Sammy
5 – MS Dhoni

Shivam Dube conceded the most run in T20I and the first Indian bowler to do so whereas Board has conceded the most run in T20I i.e. 36 runs against India in Durban 2007

34 Shivam Dube v New Zealand Mount Maunganui 2020

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button