Kabaddi World Cup

Kabaddi World Cup is an indoor International Kabaddi Tournament organized by the director of International Kabaddi Federation (IKF) E Prasad Rao participated by both men and women national teams in Standard style. 

It started in 2004(15 years ago) with 12 teams which are as follows:

  • Bangladesh
  • Canada
  • Germany
  • India
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Nepal
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • United kingdom 
  • West Indies

Competition Format:

9 teams participate in a tournament consisting of two rounds. 

The first round contains three pools of four teams each and followed by a round-robin format for every playing team in the pool. 

By helping out the culmination of the matches, groups doled out first and second in each pool progressed to a solitary disposal round comprising of four quarterfinals, two elimination rounds, and the last game.


All match timings are scheduled according to the Indian Standard time.

 List of kabaddi World Cup is as follows:

YEARPLACEChampionsRunner up
2007Panvel (India)IndiaIran

Points are calculated after each and every match by the formula:

10*(total number of kabaddi nations – rank of the opponent) + (SD)

Where sd is score difference.

87fa0f82 7767 47bd 9b48 4d9fca7e8552

Top 10 rankings acc. To IKF:

9United States51

India’s role in the World Cup:

India has a dominant position in the world cup as it has all the 3 championships of each event till now.

Director’s recent words:

It was a recent interview in Ahmadabad, where the final of pre kabaddi league will take place, 

the Technical Director of International Kabaddi Federation E Prasad Rao said that the World Cup will be played in 2020 and the Federation is finalizing a slot for the event which is set to be held next year.

E Prasad Rao also spoke about the lobbying rule and said that the IKF want to modify it in the future for the game.

 He talked that, “we need to transform it (entryway rule) and we are exploring different avenues regarding the results on the off chance that we after that standard. 

We are taking a gander at different games like football and b-ball.

At the point when the ball goes out, the play is dead. 

So also, 

when the pillager goes out, the play ought to be dead.

Indian Kabaddi Team Players:

As India has won all the events so all the players of the championship team should be known:

  • Ajay Thakur (Team Captain)
  • Pradeep narwal (Dubki King)
  • Rahul Chaudhari (Raid Machine)
  • Rohit Kumar (Surprise Package)
  • Rishank devadiga (Star Raider)
  • Deepak Niwas Hooda (Perfect all Rounder)
  • Mohit chiller (Best Defender) 
  • Surendra nada (Ankle Hold)
  • Girish Ernak (Front Block)
  • Sandeep narwal (Right Corner)
  • Surjeet Singh narwal (Defensive Play)
  • Manjeet similar (Star Performer)
  • Monu goat (Shock Viewers By Performance)
  • Maninder Singh (Raid Master)
  • Nitin Tomar (Blustery Raider)
  • Sachin tanwar (Good Back-Up Package)

Related Articles

Back to top button