Kevin Pietersen names his T20 World Cup team of the tournament

Former England player Kevin Pietersen has recently named his team of the tournament for the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2021. Pietersen, however, did not add ‘player of the tournament’ David Warner in his team despite the fact that the swashbuckling Australia opener played a key role for his side’s win. 

However, Warner won the player of the tournament in the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup which was played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman. He has amassed 289 runs in seven games which came at an average of 48.16 and strike-rate of 146.70 as well. Notably, he was the second-highest run-scorer of the tournament with Pakistan captain Babar Azam (303) scoring more runs than him only.

Warner, meanwhile, did well for Australia with a brilliant knock of 49 in the semi-final against Pakistan and 53 in the final against New Zealand as well. And, his stunning show helped his side win too.

But, Pietersen chose Mohammad Rizwan and Jos Buttler for his side to open the innings in the team of the tournament for cricket betting site Betway.  Rizwan scored 281 runs and despite being ill, he managed to score 67 against Australia in the semi-final. On the other hand, Buttler managed 269 runs. He smashed a century against Sri Lanka also. Pakistan captain Babar Azam placed at number three in his side, who scored 303 runs and played a key role for his side and also proved why he is one of the most consistent and best T20 batters in the world now.

The number four and five spots in the team have been taken by Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka and South Africa Aiden Markram as well. Both of them have done well in the middle-order. While the former scored 231 runs, the latter scored 162 runs. He even bowled a few overs with the new ball also.

Kevin Pietersen, however, named two spin-bowling all-rounders for the number six and number seven positions in his team. Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga who was the leading wicket-taker in the marquee event and England’s Moeen Ali, have taken the two spots. While Ali scored 92 runs and claimed seven wickets for his side, Hasaranga managed 119 runs and 16 wickets. His leg spin and ability to bat proved beneficial for the team as well.

Meanwhile, Australia spinner Adam Zampa, who picked 13 wickets in the tournament and helped his side lift their maiden trophy, found a place in the veteran’s team. Along with him, Pietersen added the pace trio in his team, consisting of Trent Boult, Anrich Nortje, and Shaheen Shah Afridi. 

While Boult picked up 13 wickets and led New Zealand’s pace attack quite brilliantly until the final, Nortje managed to pick up 9 wickets. He has taken more wickets than other bowlers of his team. On the other hand, young Paksitan pacer Shaheen Afridi managed to claim 7 wickets. He was the one who provided with the first breakthrough against India and helped his side win as well.

Notably, no Indian player could manage to get a place in Kevin Pietersen‘s team. However, Team India had a rather forgettable season where they saw the exit in the Super 12 stage and failed to make it to the semi-final as well after having faced two back-to-back defeats in the hands of Paksitan and New Zealand respectively. Although they won the last three games, it was not enough for them to make it to the knockout stage as well.

Kevin Pietersen’s team of the tournament 

1) Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan) 

2) Jos Buttler (England) 

3) Babar Azam (Pakistan) 

4) Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka)

5) Aiden Markram (South Africa) 

6) Moeen Ali (England)

7) Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)

8) Adam Zampa (Australia)

9) Trent Boult (New Zealand) 

10) Anrich Nortje (South Africa) 

11) Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan) 

Also Read:- MSW vs OVR Dream11 Prediction Today Match – FanCode ECS T10 Malta 2021 – Live Score, Team News, Top Picks

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker