South Africa Announced their team against Australia for T20I Series, Faf Du Plessis returns to Short Format.

Cricket South Africa has announced its 16-man squad team for the upcoming T20I series against Australia. Faf Du Plessis who step down as Captain of t20I is included in the team.

De Kock will be leading the side Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje has been included to the team.

Earlier South Africa has lost the t20I series to England in nail-biting the last match and in the last over.

The three-match t20 series will begin on 21st February. The 1st match will be played at Wanderers Stadium on 21st February. 2nd match at St. George’s Oval on 23rd February. The final match will be played on 26th February in Cape Town.

Post T20I series both teams will be playing the three ODI match series. AB De Villiers absent in the team squad who was rumored to be returned back to the team ahead of World Cup T20.

Faf Du Plessis Returns to Short Format

Faf Du Plessis Returns To Short Format

In July 2019 was the last short format where Faf Du Plessis has played his last match and now he has made a comeback to the team. He has stepped down as Captain from Test and T20I side of South Africa De Kock replacing him. He will be the senior player and the perfect right-hand batsman to look in the series. Faf Du Plessis is the highest run-scorer in t20I as a Skipper whereas Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson are behind.

Along with Faf Du Plessis other notable star players who are included in the team are David Miller, Rassie van der Dussen and Smuts.

Bavuma’s selection will be finalized post his MRI scan as he has faced a Hamstring issue.

All eyes will be on Dale Steyn’s performance, Tabraiz Shamsi to lead the spin department.

South Africa Squad for Australia T20Is

Quinton de Kock (C, Wk), T Bavuma, Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, P van Biljon, D Pretorius, A Phehlukwayo, JJ Smuts, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, B Fortuin, A Nortje, Dale Steyn, Henry Klaasen

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button