What is ICE Hockey League? How to Play Ice Hockey?

Ice Hockey: Ice hockey is a team sport played on ice skates with blades, typically on a skating rink with specific lines and markings. It belongs to the hockey family of sports. Two opposing teams use ice hockey sticks to control, advance, and shoot a closed, vulcanized rubber disc called a “puck” into the opposing team’s goal in ice hockey. Every scored goal is worth one point. The team with the most goals scored is declared the victor. In a formal game, barring penalties, each team has six athletes on the ice at once, one of whom is the goaltender. Ice hockey is a full-contact sport among the most physically demanding team sports.

The International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) controls the men’s and women’s World Championships. Ice hockey is one of the sports included in the Winter Olympics. The sport is known as hockey in North America and portions of Europe. However, “hockey” typically refers to field hockey in other countries. In 1994, hockey became the official national winter sport of Canada.

The first indoor game was performed on March 3, 1875, in Montreal, where the modern sport of ice hockey was developed. The length of the ice rink and the use of a projectile continue to be characteristics of that game. In the 1880s, amateur ice hockey competitions began, and professional ice hockey began around 1900. The Stanley Cup, a symbol of ice hockey club supremacy, was commissioned in 1892 as the “Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup” and given for the first time in 1893 to the Canadian amateur champion. It later became the National Hockey League (NHL) championship trophy. In the early 1900s, the Ligue Internationale de Hockey Sur Glace in Paris, France, the predecessor of the IIHF, adopted the Canadian rules. The sport was first contested during the Summer Olympics of 1920.

Women played during the game’s formative years. Still, in the mid-1980s, when organizers began to remove body checking from female ice hockey, it gained popularity, spreading to Europe and some other countries. In 1990, the first IIHF Women’s World Championship was contested, and in 1998, women’s hockey was added to the Olympic Games.

ICE Hockey League

How to Play Ice Hockey?

ICE Hockey League: The attacking team, with six players, takes possession of the puck after the face-off and attempts to continue passing it to the opponent’s goal cage with their hockey sticks. The opposing team, the defending team, attempts to prevent the puck from entering their goal cage. The attacking and defensive teams continuously switch positions based on puck possession. The game is played in three 20-minute intervals. After the second and third intervals, the team’s switch ends.

Also Read: Top 5 Ice Hockey Teams | Best Ice Hockey Team

The face-off begins the game with the center players controlling the puck. The wingers provide complete support when shooting the puck, while the defensemen remain in pairs on the left and right sides, taking control of the puck if the other players cannot do so.

Offside, icing, and out-of-play are the three main rules in ice hockey that can restrict the puck’s movement. A player is “offside” if he enters the opposing team’s zone before passing the puck into their zone. Icing happens when the puck crosses the center red line and the goal line simultaneously without contacting another player’s hockey stick. The puck is considered “Out of play” when it leaves the ice rink, and the game is quickly stopped.

ICE Hockey League

ICE Hockey League

ICE Hockey League: The International Central European Hockey League (ICEHL), sometimes known as the win2day ICE Hockey competition for commercial reasons, is a Central European hockey league that also acts as Austria’s top-tier ice hockey competition. It presently includes teams from Hungary, Italy, and Slovenia. From 2003 to 2020, the league was known as the Erste Bank Eishockey Liga (EBEL), and during the 2021-22 season, it was known as the bet-at-home ICE Hockey League.

Until 2005-06, the league was comprised entirely of Austrian teams. Since then, the league has added teams from Slovenia (from 2006 to 2017 & from 2021 on), Hungary (from 2007-08), Croatia (from 2009-10 through 2012-13, and again from 2017-18 through 2018-2019), the Czech Republic (from 2011-12 through 2019-20, and again from 2021-22 on), Italy (from 2013-14), and Slovakia (from 2020-21 through the start of 2021-22).

Non-Austrian teams compete for the “League Champion” title. Only Austrian teams can compete for the “Austrian Champion” title in this competition. Teams from the ICEHL compete for the European Trophy in the IIHF’s annual Champions Hockey League (CHL). The strength of the major European leagues (excluding the European/Asian Kontinental Hockey League) decides participation. The ICEHL was ranked sixth in Europe heading into the 2022-23 CHL season, allowing them to send their top three teams to compete in the CHL.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker